2022 Philip M Farrell Population Health Distinguished Alumni Lecturer – Dr. Nasia Safdar

This annual Lecture Series is intended to recognize outstanding graduates of the Department of Population Health Sciences for their professional accomplishments and achievements in a field related to population health. The lecture is named after Dr. Philip M. Farrell, Professor of Pediatrics and Population Health Sciences and former Dean of the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, in recognition of his leadership in the transformation of the Department and the School. It was under Dr. Farrell’s tenure as dean that the Department (founded in 1959 and formally named Department of Preventive Medicine) changed its name and underwent a consolidation of its graduate programs into the Population Health MS/PhD Program, the Masters of Public Health was established, and the process of transformation of the School of Medicine into a School of Medicine and Public Health was initiated. The recipient of this award is chosen by the faculty and students of the Department and is invited to give the Alumni Lecture at the Population Health Annual Poster Session.